The Central Region comprises the regions of Coimbra, Aveiro, Viseu-Dão-Lafões, Leiria, Médio Tejo, Oeste and Beira (Beira Alta, Beira Baixa and Beira Litoral), which is why it is also known as Beiras. It is located to the north of Lisbon and the Alentejo, and to the south of the North Region. Spain is the eastern border and the Atlantic is west.

Guide to Center

Municipality Square in Castelo Branco, Low Beira, Center Region © GEP


The High Beira, whose capital is the city of Viseu, located in the northeast of the Center Region.

Coimbra, important universitary center, the capital of the Beira Litoral and of the Center Region; it has already been the capital of Portugal. With more than 143.000 inhabitants, it's the most populous city of the Center.

Aveiro is the second most important city of Center Region.

The Low Beira, whose capital is the city of Castelo Branco; it is located in the southeast of the Center Region.

Center Sub-regions

This is a wide space, with 100 municipalities, that comprises the following sub-regions:

Pinhal Interior North (Lousã)

Low Mondego (Coimbra)

Low Vouga (Aveiro)

Dão-Lafões (Viseu)

Beira Interior North (Guarda)

Serra da Estrela (Gouveia)

Cova da Beira (Covilhã)

Beira Interior South (Castelo Branco)

Pinhal Interior South (Sertã)

Mean Tagus (Tomar)

West (Caldas da Rainha)